Rhode Island set to add paid sick leave for employees

On September 19, 2017 the Rhode Island General Assembly approved a bill which will require employers with 18 or more employees, to provide paid sick leave.  The bill now sits at the desk of Governor Gina Raimondo, who is expected to sign it after directly calling for it during her State of the State address in January 2017.

Once signed, the bill allows for employees to accrue paid sick leave to use for themselves or to care for a family member.  Employers with 18 or more employees will be required under law to provide employees with 1 hour of paid sick and safe leave for every 35 hours worked- up to a maximum of 24 accrued hours in 2018.  In 2019, employees will be able to accrue 32 hours, then 40 hours per year effective in 2020.  Employees may carry over unused accrued leave from year to year, but unused accrued leave is not payable at termination. 

Employers with fewer than 18 employees will be required to provide the same amounts of leave, but it is unpaid.

If signed, this will be effective July 1, 2018.

Contact us for support to make a compliant policy.