New Laws in effect as of August 1, 2016

Minnesota Minimum Wage Increase

Effective starting August 1, 2016, large employers will be required to pay employees a minimum of $9.50 per hour.  This is expected to affect about 287,000 workers in Minnesota.  Small employers, which have annual receipts of less than $500,000 are allowed to pay a minimum wage of $7.75 per hour.

Posters

·         As of August 1, 2016, employers are required to post the revised Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) Minimum Wage Poster.  It can be downloaded here.

·         As of August 1, 2016, employers are required to post the revised Employee Polygraph Protection Act (EPPA) Poster.  It can be downloaded here.

USDOL Announces Increase in Penalties

·         Minimum Wage and Overtime Penalties-  Starting August 1, 2016, the maximum penalty for a violation will increase from $1,100 to $1,894.  This fine is a per-person charge based on how many employees were unlawfully paid.  The DOL also has the power to assert a penalty for willfulness if the employer knew that it was a violation or acted in disregard for whether it was.

·         OSHA Penalty Increases-  OSHA’s maximum penalties will increase by  78% starting August 1, 2016. 

1.       Serious Other-Than-Serious Posting Requirements- $12,471

2.       Failure to Abate- $$12,471 per day beyond the abatement date

3.       Willful or Repeated- $124,709

·         There were other penalty increases including ERISA and immigration related violations.  For further detailed information, click here.

Texas Campus Carry

·         Effective August 1, 2016, a new law will allow the carrying of concealed handguns by handgun license holders in university buildings including public and private colleges, universities, and other institutions of higher learning.